California’s law necessitates that car drivers involved in a collision should stop at that accident spot, check whether anybody has been hurt, give aid to those who are hurt and exchange details with the other driver. Here, a motorist must report the accident to law enforcement or the state Highway Patrol if it causes injury or demise. If a cop hits the accident spot, they will prepare that report, in which case the concerned motorist will not have to do so.
California’s law also necessitates that they report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicle in 10 days after it if it causes demise or injury, or over $750 in property damage. That report has to contain the following details.
- The contact information of both the auto drivers and anybody who was hurt in the collision;
- Accident date, time and place;
- Information concerning the motorists’ driver’s license, birth date and other details;
- Insurance details;
- Explanation of both injuries and damage to the property
You can check here to know more of such details regarding to automobile accidents.
Damages Involved In California Car Accidents
For an initiated, damages in this regard mean what it implies – losses suffered by one who met with the accident. As per California’s law, injury victims are entitled to recover their damages caused by other people’s negligence. In the state, damages are split into two different categories: “economic” and “non-economic”. The former include the ones that are associated with a particular economic loss, including damages like the following.
- The automobile’s repair costs or replacement expenses
- Earlier and future medical costs
- Loss of business opportunities or employment
- Lost income
- Loss of earning capacity
- Loss of use of the property
- Burial costs
The latter are the ones which are not so easy to calculate, including the following.
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- Mental anguish
- Loss of affection, consortium or companionship
Several states in America impose a cap on some forms of damages, but such a limit is not there in California. However, California has a law that keeps one without auto insurance from recovering non-monetary compensation, whoever is adjudged to be responsible for their accident. Even so, that person can make a legal claim for property damage, medical costs, lost wages and other monetary damages.